I have upgraded through various random Frostwire versions, in order to simulate roughly what an average Frostwire user might have done. I have not altered any of the saving options, other than to check I was sharing everything in 4.21.5
I have started from a clean install of 4.10.9, which will not work on my version of OS X due to the fact is impossible to configure it. But this did create an incomplete folder and a shared folder in Users > My name.
I upgraded to 4.18.6
I upgraded to 4.21.5 and noticed that the same shared folder was set as my save folder. I downloaded some gnutella files which saved in Users > My Name > Shared as created above. I checked that share finished downloads and partial sharing were both enabled. My saving location remained unchanged,
I upgraded to 4.2.7 RC2 (Ignore my previous remark about the first page of the set up wizard being largely blank. I realize that is as it should be). Again the save folder remained the same.
I can confirm that incompletes are not shared, and that .7 altered the default setting for sharing partial files.
The previously downloaded files, 8 in number, in shared are not shared, but apparently the newly downloaded files in there are shared (3 files) This is confusing me as they are in a folder which Frostwire is showing as fully shared. I confirm that Share finished downloads [to unshared folders] has altered to unchecked. I am guessing that since the folder is set as my save folder it is unshared despite being shown as shared. I had thought new downloads were being shared, but a Refresh of the library proved me wrong.
I notice that the incomplete torrents in Frostwire > Saved (Yes they did go to that newly created folder in 4.21.5) were copied to Torrent Data in .7 and completed in the latter folder .. I can see this possibly creating clutter .. and disc space issues for those who do not realize what is happening.
Frostwire > Preferences is working (Its a Mac thing) .. Excellent ..Thanks
Migration Wizard worked OK
I am not at all happy with the removal of all torrent data with absolutely no warning when a Torrent is cancelled from the download window. It is not to hard to do by mistake, and a nearly complete torrent could easily get deleted by unintentionally. I do notice the .torrent file does remain however and is shared.
Large Bug: I was just about to close when I realized that I clicked clear inactive on a bunch of gnutella completed downloads and they cleared as they should, along with a completed torrent. The torrent also vanished from the monitor window. Happily the Torrent Data folder was unaffected. It seems complete torrents must remain in the download window to seed, and clearing inactive downloads will remove them totally from seeding. Seeding can, it seems, be resumed by dragging the original .torrent file into Frostwire. If the download entry is left in downloads it will [hopefully] resume on restart.. although, as before, it is hit and miss whether torrents will load or start every time.