Cursor suggestion

Got some cool new ideas or feature requests? We want to hear it!
Duncan113
Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Nov 19, 2015 6:50 pm

Cursor suggestion

Postby Duncan113 » Thu Nov 19, 2015 6:54 pm

Up until recently, whenever you launched Frostwire, the cursor would already be in place in the search field, and you just needed to start typing the keyword(s) to search for. I always found this convenient and felt more programs should do it. In the latest update, I noticed this is no longer the case, and wondered why it had changed and whether it might be changed back to the old way.

User avatar
gubatron
Development Team
Posts: 1510
Joined: Wed Apr 05, 2006 12:23 am
Contact:

Re: Cursor suggestion

Postby gubatron » Wed Dec 23, 2015 7:16 pm

Thanks for bringing this to our attention, I remember having done something related to this.
I'll get back to you, but you're right, it's a lot more convenient. Perhaps it was a temporary solution to some issue, or just a bug that got introduced. Will fix. Thank you so much for paying attention to the details.
Got Android? Try the new FrostWire for Android
http://frostwire.com/android

User avatar
gubatron
Development Team
Posts: 1510
Joined: Wed Apr 05, 2006 12:23 am
Contact:

Re: Cursor suggestion

Postby gubatron » Wed Jan 06, 2016 5:50 am

@Duncan113 thought you might like to know this is coming for FrostWire 6.2.1 (it couldn't make it into last night's hot release, but I made sure it wasn't forgotten thanks to you, it's there for you if you know how to run FrostWire from sources)

commit 186e38 [desktop] Have search box focused when app opens.

Code: Select all

From 186e3875c609568cead77fb8a3c3e8eb7dbe546c Mon Sep 17 00:00:00 2001
From: gubatron <gubatron@gmail.com>
Date: Thu, 5 Nov 2015 16:52:44 -0500
Subject: [PATCH] Fixes issue for lower resolutions on the header. Now textbox
 is dynamic. (It behaves weirdly if it has the keyboard focus) - build 167

diff --git a/desktop/src/com/limegroup/gnutella/gui/ApplicationHeader.java b/desktop/src/com/limegroup/gnutella/gui/ApplicationHeader.java
index 1e63ec5..e965b8d 100644
--- a/desktop/src/com/limegroup/gnutella/gui/ApplicationHeader.java
+++ b/desktop/src/com/limegroup/gnutella/gui/ApplicationHeader.java
@@ -89,7 +89,7 @@
     private final JPanel searchPanels;
 
     public ApplicationHeader(Map<Tabs, Tab> tabs) {
-        setMinimumSize(new Dimension(1100, 54));
+        setMinimumSize(new Dimension(1000, 54));
         setLayout(new MigLayout("ins 0, ay 50%, filly,", "[][][grow][][]"));
 
         headerButtonBackgroundSelected = GUIMediator.getThemeImage("selected_header_button_background").getImage();
@@ -117,7 +117,7 @@ public void processKeyEvent(KeyEvent evt) {
         };
         
         searchPanels = createSearchPanel();
-        add(searchPanels, "w 370px!, gapright 10px, gapleft 5px");
+        add(searchPanels, "wmin 240px, wmax 370px, growprio 50, growx, gapright 10px, gapleft 5px");
 
         //The Chat Tab is not a real Tab, it's a button, it's creation is done inside this method.
         addTabButtons(tabs);
diff --git a/desktop/src/com/limegroup/gnutella/gui/GUIMediator.java b/desktop/src/com/limegroup/gnutella/gui/GUIMediator.java
index 23f32b9..e695698 100644
--- a/desktop/src/com/limegroup/gnutella/gui/GUIMediator.java
+++ b/desktop/src/com/limegroup/gnutella/gui/GUIMediator.java
@@ -338,7 +338,7 @@ public void run() {
                         ErrorService.error(t);
                 }
                 if (visible) {
-                    SearchMediator.requestSearchFocus();
+                    //SearchMediator.requestSearchFocus();
                     // forcibly revalidate the FRAME
                     // after making it visible.
                     // on Java 1.5, it does not validate correctly.
Got Android? Try the new FrostWire for Android
http://frostwire.com/android

abubakar
Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Feb 10, 2016 1:55 am

Re: Cursor suggestion

Postby abubakar » Wed Feb 10, 2016 1:59 am

I always found this convenient and felt more programs should do it. In the latest update, I noticed this is no longer the case, and wondered why it had changed and whether it might be changed back to the old way.
JAMES

User avatar
gubatron
Development Team
Posts: 1510
Joined: Wed Apr 05, 2006 12:23 am
Contact:

Re: Cursor suggestion

Postby gubatron » Thu Feb 11, 2016 4:29 pm

If you use the latest version of FrostWire the cursor is now back in position :)

Stay alert for our next release, coming out very soon fixing YT search issues and a lot more.
Got Android? Try the new FrostWire for Android
http://frostwire.com/android


Return to “Desktop Feature Requests”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests