Help us fight against fake sites

Creative and useful discussions about anything involving the world of peer-2-peer.

Help us fight against fake sites

Postby gubatron » Thu Nov 17, 2011 8:37 pm

We learned today that FrostWire10.com and FrostWireDownload.org, two sites that not only infringe on our trademarked name and logo are now on the first page of Google Search Results, above CNet and Wikipedia.

Click image to see in full size.
Image

These sites not only use our trademarked name and logo without our permission, they distribute an installer that is not the official FrostWire installer, when you run this installer it will try to install RealPlayer (no matter what you do) thus probably abusing on RealPlayer's affiliate program, and they'll also install some other dubious offers even if you uncheck them.

We are trying to contact the DNS and hosting companies that house these fraudsters.

Please DO NOT DOWNLOAD FrostWire from other websites than FrostWire.com, CNet, SourceForge, Brothersoft, and FrostClick.com

Image

Image>

DO NOT PAY FOR FROSTWIRE: The only official website is FrostWire.com

The stub they offer, shows a malicious RealPlayer offer that's impossible to refuse.
The text on it points to a a gplsrc.freedownloadsoft.net/1439647 a license page hosted in this domain freedownloadsoft.net

DNS searches on frostwire10.com and frostwiredownload.org show cloaked registrars, but they didn't bother to cloak freedownloadsoft.net, here's the DNS information:

Code: Select all
[REGISTRANT]
    Organisation Name: Pinball Corp
    Contact Name:      William Freeman
    Address Line 1:    3600 136th Place SE
    Address Line 2:
    City / Town:       Bellevue
    State / Province:
    Zip / Postcode:    WA 98006
    Country:           US
    Telephone:         +1.0114252791177
    Fax:
    Email:             wfreeman@pinballcorp.com


Pinball Corp operates http://pinballcorp.com/ and http://pinballpublishernetwork.com/, we're trying to find out if they're behind these two sites or if they can lead us to the culprit.

This is what you see when you run their installers:
Image
Certainly NOT the FrostWire installer.

Image
Try Cancelling the offer, good luck with moving Forward without accepting the offer, you'll have to install RealPlayer to move Forward.

Image
Doesn't end there, 3 more offers, don't bother unchecking them, it will install some.

Eventually it downloads an old version of FrostWire lord knows from where, since the version they download has been long discontinued and it's not compliant with the FTC order for default settings and privacy requirements.

After you're done, get ready for a world of hell, you will be receiving popup after popup, which try to get you to enter your cellphone number for lord knows what, probably to charge you a monthly fee and to spam the hell out of you via SMS and Phonecalls.

Image
Image
Image

Please stay away from unofficial websites.

If you can help us find any information about the operators of this sites please write us at contact@frostwire.com

If you could report these sites (frostwire10.com and frostwiredownload.org) to Google it'd be of great help
http://www.google.com/safebrowsing/report_badware/
Got Android? Try the new FrostWire for Android
http://frostwire.com/android
User avatar
gubatron
Development Team
 
Posts: 1098
Joined: Wed Apr 05, 2006 12:23 am

Re: Help us against fake sites

Postby The_Fox » Sat Dec 10, 2011 11:05 pm

Reported :shock:
User avatar
The_Fox
Moderator
 
Posts: 1109
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2008 5:21 pm
Location: The_Fox@Root

Re: Help us against fake sites

Postby Humanoid » Sun Dec 11, 2011 3:02 am

Done & done!
Image
User avatar
Humanoid
Member
 
Posts: 199
Joined: Wed May 13, 2009 5:47 pm
Location: Southeast Michigan

Re: Help us against fake sites

Postby Nathann » Sun Dec 11, 2011 3:27 pm

Reported them.
Follow me on Twitter!
Image
@w8i
Nathann
Member
 
Posts: 91
Joined: Thu Jun 25, 2009 1:57 pm

Re: Help us against fake sites

Postby gubatron » Sun Dec 11, 2011 5:13 pm

Thanks!, Let's spread the word and see if we can get these sites unlisted from top search results.
Got Android? Try the new FrostWire for Android
http://frostwire.com/android
User avatar
gubatron
Development Team
 
Posts: 1098
Joined: Wed Apr 05, 2006 12:23 am

Re: Help us against fake sites

Postby Nathann » Tue Dec 13, 2011 2:49 pm

gubatron wrote:Thanks!, Let's spread the word and see if we can get these sites unlisted from top search results.

I just told some of my mates to report them. :D
Follow me on Twitter!
Image
@w8i
Nathann
Member
 
Posts: 91
Joined: Thu Jun 25, 2009 1:57 pm

Re: Help us against fake sites

Postby chill_bud » Sat Dec 31, 2011 2:24 am

Updated List Coming at you Gubatron via e-mail.. check ur contact@frostwire.com :)
chill_bud
Member
 
Posts: 44
Joined: Sun Jul 22, 2007 8:49 am
Location: Canada


Return to Open Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests