STICKY: Paid for FrostWire? Click Here!

Have a question :?: We'd love to help you find the answer :!:

STICKY: Paid for FrostWire? Click Here!

Postby ianw » Sun Apr 02, 2006 8:27 pm

-> FrostWire's only web site is http://www.frostwire.com/ It does redirect legitimately to http://www.download.com/FrostWire/3000- ... d=10627624 for windows users ...

-> FrostWire is free, never pay for it. (we only accept voluntary donations to help us pay for development costs)

-> You've been scammed? Try to get a refund ASAP!

Two ways:
1) -> Ask and re-ask the scammers by email for a refund since they are providing a free product for a charge and that they are lying about 100% legal downloads (Please, do not email us regarding these issues as there is nothing we can do about it).

2) -> If you just "registered" their service, try to stop the money transfer by calling your bank and telling them you've been scammed

Fight back! -> Please file a complaint to the FBI with the scammers web site address: http://www.firstgov.gov/Citizen/Topics/ ... raud.shtml (http://www.frostwire.com is NOT the scam website. Give them the link (website or company name) that you registered onto. PLEASE CHECK YOUR INVOICES/RECEIPTS!)

Sites known to involve Frostwire users:

allcoolmusic.com
downloadsglobe.com § seems to only offer Adobe Acrobat but looks like a scam site
DownloadMusicInc.com § Dead link
download-it-free.com
filesharingcenter.com
free-frostwire.com § This domain name expired
free-music-share.com / free-music-share.com/frostwire/ (or limewire etc)
Frostwire-Download.com § Under Construction
iMusicNow.com
limewirenetwork.com
MP3downloading.com
MP3DOWNLOADHQ.COM
mp3freemusic.com/llimewire § now just seems to be a lot of dubious links
mp3musichq.com
Mp3Universal.com § nopw just seems to be a lot of dubious links
musicdownload3mp.com/
musicmembersarea.com § not sure how you get into this one, but avoid it
mymusicinc.com / musicinc.cc (not connected with musicinc.com which is not a scam site)
realmusicnow.com

---
(Tell us below if you know another offender)

A comprehensive list of P2P scammers is maintained here: P2P Scams

Also see P2PForums.com's Guide to Avoiding Rogue P2P Sites

The safety of any site you visit can be checked out at http://www.siteadvisor.com/

It is true that GPL permits selling of software, HOWEVER
Those sites are illegal and fraudulous because:
-They do not give access to FrostWire source, as required by the GPL
-They lure new non-experimented users into thinking that a subscription gives them the right of legally downloading copyrighted works (Unlimited songs, movies, Legal) which is totally false, as other P2P activities, respect your country laws
-They don't tell what software users are getting (all 100% free software) and links to official websites
-They don't tell that the only thing they could charge, is the support over the usage of the softwares (a support often better on official web sites and forums)

How they work:
-Big scammers makes many websites to lure as many newbies as they can to pay (for exemple, mymusicinc.com, musicinc.cc and allcoolmusic.com have all the same owner), while softwares have only one official website.
-They pay Google many thousands of dollars for ads that are displayed accordingly to your search keywords or the subjects of a web page you visit.
-Once they get too many frustrated users on one site, the scammers close the site and reopen another one with a different address and different design.
-They make millions while legits software developers most often work for nothing.

Please spread the word and use this thread to share your experiences and exchange ideas about how to get a refund.

They DO NOT deserve your money over OTHER's work. DO NOT encourage those parasites.

The FrostWire Team

Edited by Only A Hobo - 25 March 2008
Last edited by ianw on Tue Sep 11, 2007 6:08 am, edited 4 times in total.
User avatar
ianw
Development Team
 
Posts: 241
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2006 1:30 pm
Location: Greater Cincinnati

Postby Beethoven » Wed Apr 05, 2006 8:21 am

If you already paid by a credit card and you're within 30 days from the time you got your statement with that itme on it, you can still ask for a "charge back". I'd click on the "Lost or Stolen Credit Card" option (if you're calling by phone) to get to speak to a live security person right away. Tell them you've been scammed and need a charge back.
User avatar
Beethoven
Member
 
Posts: 68
Joined: Mon Apr 03, 2006 9:34 am
Location: Atlantic Coast, Canada

Postby diverdan » Thu Apr 03, 2008 1:23 am

If they dont pay you back or anything just hack the **** :p
diverdan
Member
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Apr 03, 2008 12:49 am
Location: SC, USA

Postby Only A Hobo » Thu Apr 03, 2008 6:30 am

Not the official policy of Frostwire ;) :)
User avatar
Only A Hobo
Moderator
 
Posts: 8318
Joined: Wed Mar 29, 2006 9:04 am
Location: Just Visiting

Re: STICKY: Paid for FrostWire? Click Here!

Postby gtlefty28 » Fri Aug 05, 2011 12:14 am

http://www.limewire2011.com/index.php This site I tried to download limewire pro, unaware that limewire is under investigation. I bought the bitorrent and it turned out to be frostwire, which it turned out to be nothing but a scam!! dont use this site!!
Last edited by THX1138 on Tue Aug 23, 2011 6:15 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: disabled parsing of url.
gtlefty28
Member
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Aug 04, 2011 11:35 pm

Re: STICKY: Paid for FrostWire? Click Here!

Postby Muziekant » Wed Nov 09, 2011 5:24 am

I whas so stupid,to paid for Frostwire by a Dutch office,I think somewhere in the Nord. By telephone I paid 3x euro 1.30.

Muziekant
Muziekant
Member
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Nov 08, 2011 4:35 am

Re: STICKY: Paid for FrostWire? Click Here!

Postby Baltis » Wed Nov 09, 2011 8:16 am

This has to be the worst one. I didn't know I was paying for FrostWire. They act as if this is their own software and what it is is only revealed after starting a "three day trial". I just did this, with a debit card, and they of course have no way to cancel the trial on their site. If you login you are led to a common knowledge database on P2P. Nothing more. Any supposed feature on the main site says restricted for members, but you can't go there signed in as a member. They aren't even acting like FW costs money, because you don't know that is what you get until you pay. I knew FW was free and was sucked in by their sales pitch of what I assumed would be like a pay version of any p2p software, just to get new book pdfs quickly. They don't mention what the software is anywhere, they let you think what ever you want and make no claim that FW costs money, as soon as I saw their "Software many years in production" I knew I was scammed. I looked for any way this was legitimate hoping they were doing some work around to justify paying. $18 three day trial with options I unchecked added anyway. $60 U.S. if I don't cancel the trial and no way to do so. I want them smeared and reported and whatever I can to keep them from getting anything. They had SSL available for added $18 for a "trial". I should have smelled scam but have no problem with p2p legitimately giving a pay option so didn't think. They are just soooo brazen that a scam seems unlikely because they just completely lie about everything.

These people need to pay. This is the worst fraud I've ever been the victim of and I want every consumer and law enforcement to know of this fraud. I want to make sure they are infamously fraudulent on every place anyone could possibly check before giving out there card #. These people are the worst of scum and I will not allow my meager earnings to fund their growth like the tumor on society they are.

Please join me in filing overwhelming complaints of fraud, this is worse than saying FW costs money, they get you to pay so whether you know it is free or not they get you.

Destroy------> http://getdownloadsfast.com/
Last edited by Only A Hobo on Thu Nov 10, 2011 5:05 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: deactivate link so curious people don't visit and ......
Baltis
Member
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Nov 09, 2011 7:36 am

Re: STICKY: Paid for FrostWire? Click Here!

Postby Only A Hobo » Thu Nov 10, 2011 5:08 pm

Good luck with that .. I trust you have cancelled your debit card
Please do not Private Message me with questions that can equally well be posted in the forums, and may also help others. Do use the forum search.
User avatar
Only A Hobo
Moderator
 
Posts: 8318
Joined: Wed Mar 29, 2006 9:04 am
Location: Just Visiting


Return to FrostWire Desktop Technical Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 6 guests